Lima Cusco Puno Arequipa La Paz P. Maldonado Iquitos Nazca Trujillo White Mountain Chain Kuelap
Click below to choose the tour of your dreams

Geography & Climate

Péru is composed of 3 big geographic and climate areas.

La Costa

The 2414km-long coast, is 100km width, and is made up by a desert that goes from the north to the south of the country. Between December and March, the climate is sunny, and the day temperatures are between 25 and 30 degrees. In the night, temperatures are around 20 degrees. The rest of the year, the coast is shaddy, foggy and sometimes with drizzle, and the temperatures are between 15 and 22 degrees, so are the night ones. In the south, (Nasca for example), sun is almost always shinning but the temperaturas are lower in the night.

La Sierra

The Andes mountains cross the country From north to south. The climate is very dry on the Pacific coast, and becomes wet as you go to Amazonia. This way, Arequipa, located between the desert and the mountains is dryer than Cusco and Puno. The wet season starts in December and ends in March. It generates rains, but not heavy rains. Even in this season, there are less rains in Cusco than in Paris. Temperatures are low in June and Jully, during the dry season. In Arequipa, the lower night temperatures in June or Jully are about 5 degrees C, and the maximal day temperatures are about 24 degrees C. In Cusco, the lower night temperatures are about 0 degrees C and 20 C for the maximum in the day. In Puno, the temperatures are a little lower than Cusco. During summer (January to March), night are less cold. The Huascarán, at 6 768 meters high, is the highest point of the country in the west mountains.

La Selva

The Amazonia, the biggest forest of the world is a Paradise regarding the wildlife and has a wet tropical climate all the year with temperatures between 20 and 35 degrees C. It rains a little more between December and March, and temperatures are colder between May and August.
Moreover, since 2013, the Amazonia is part of the 7 Natural World Wonders, status awarded by the “New 7 Wonders” foundation.